English Update 2020-2021

Since September we have been very busy behind the scenes. We have:

  1. Invested in a large number of new reading scheme books
  2. Reintroduced reading diaries in Key Stage 2
  3. Relaunched the Book Draw
  4. Adapted our library timetable so children still have the opportunity the visit the library (now classes have use of the library in one week blocks)
  5. Launched the Millfields’ Book Club
  6. Adapted the way our year six pupils and reception pupils read together
  7. Held a virtual English workshop for EYFS parents (information about this is available at the bottom of this page)
  8. Given each class money to choose 10 new books for their class reading area
  9. Led a number of different meetings and training sessions for staff

Mrs Smith and Mrs Thompson

English Curriculum

English in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is divided into the following areas:

Communication, Language and Literacy (listening, understanding and speaking)

Literacy (reading and writing)

However English is threaded throughout other areas, for example handwriting is part of physical development.

The English curriculum for Key Stage 1 (KS1) and Key Stage 2 (KS2) is divided up into the following areas:

Reading, including phonics

Writing, including handwriting

SPaG (Spelling, punctuation and grammar)

Speaking and Listening.


The children are assessed on a regular basis throughout their time in school so their progress can be carefully monitored. However in certain year groups children are formally assessed because they have reached the end of a phase (EYFS) or Key Stage (KS1 and KS2)

At the end of EYFS children are assessed against the early learning goals and are given a grade of either: emerging, expected or exceeding.

At the end of year two the children complete SATs (Standardised Assessment Tests) in reading and writing. The writing is teacher assessed against a set criteria. 

At the end of year six the children complete SATs in reading, SpaG and writing. Once again, the writing is teacher assessed against a set criteria. 

Also, at the end of year one the children take part in the phonics screening test. They are asked to read 40 words (some real and some nonsense). If they achieve a score below the expected level (this is set by the DfE each year), they will need to retake the screening in year 2. This year the expected level was 32.

We encourage the children to read a range of genres, including fiction and non-fiction, if you need any ideas or suggestions for recommended texts please click on this link.